Kate Monk's Onomastikon

(Dictionary of Names)

Marshall Islands

Capital: Dalap-Uliga-Darrit

Bikini Atoll, Eniwetok Atoll, Jaluit

This group includes two chains, the 13 Radak islands and the 11 Ralik islands. They were under German control from 1906-19, administered by Japan until 1946 and given to the USA as part of the Pacific Islands Trust Territory in 1947. During the nuclear test programme of 1946-63, the inhabitants of the northern islands were resettled and are now demanding compensation.

In 1986, the islands signed a compact of free association with the US which gave them management of their internal and external affairs with financial support from the US in exchange for the control of military activities. The membership of the Pacific Islands Trust Territory ended in 1991and the Marshall Islands became a member of the UN under president Amata Kabua who was re-elected in 1992.

This collection of names was compiled by Kate Monk and is ©1997, Kate Monk.

Copies may be made for personal use only.

tekeli.li home|Onomastikon home